Water mills have been a feature of corn growing regions like Lincolnshire for more than a thousand years. Along the western edge of the fens several have survived on main rivers like the Welland. The Domesday book in 1086 records four water mills in West Deeping at that date and one of them would have been where you are today. The Molecey family developed and ran the water mill here from late Georgian times until the end of the Victorian era.
John Molecey was originally a "Whittawer," a tanner and saddle maker. Once he took on the mill he became a miller and baker until he died in 1774. His son and grandson both named John succeeded him as millers. The Fullard family took on the mill in 1896 and continued to work the mill until 1935/6. Mr Fullard died in 1950 when the mill first came up for sale.
As befitting a room in the attic the trunks and cases give a feel of the "room in the roof." The room also gives stunning views over the dovecote roof and the gardens.